Writing. Being a writer is crazy, there is this instant connection that you have with all writers and it’s crazy.

You immediately become attached to them, you share their pleasures and connections and you congratulate them.

But some part of me would never date a writer, yes, I am a writer and I would never date a writer.

My boyfriend isn’t a writer but he does write but that doesn’t bother me.

When writing, as many of you probably know, you are constantly struggling. You struggle through writer’s block, through the critics, through getting your book finished or getting it published.

There are so many struggles that writers face and maybe it’s the jealousy and pettiness that is my life but I could never date a writer.

When dating somebody, you have to support them and love them through all they do but let me tell you something.

Every single time one of my writer friend’s came up with a new story line, I was mega jealous especially when I have writers block.

It’s like a salty happiness you have for somebody.

Then you tell a writer that you submitted your story into something and you suddenly feel this immense dread.

Like, are they going to submit their work? Am I going to have to compete against them?

It’s this constant struggle.

So as much as I love being friends with writers, I would never ever date a writer.

Merlin help me if my boyfriend gives up biology for writing. I would never break up with him for it, I love that nerd.

I just mean that I would never willingly go into a relationship knowing that he is a writer…

Sorry writers,

Sabrina Ingram.

Leave a Reply

