Take a Deep Breath – Poem

Take a deep breath and I promise you I’ll survive.

All I’ve got to do is take a deep breathe and hold it in.

Can’t let anyone know what I’m thinking, what I’m feeling.

Taking a deep breath, hoping I’ll survive.

Not sure how to handle you anymore.

Not sure what I’m supposed to say.

Not sure how I’m supposed to feel when your name comes up.

All I ever wanted was a smile blessing your face.

If this is what you wanted then I’m glad you have it.

But why am I feeling this way?

Why am I feeling like there is something missing?

It’s not like this was all your idea.

It’s not like we were a perfect pair.

But your face made me smile

and your words made me skip a beat.

I don’t know why this is happening.

It’s not like this was all your doing.

It’s not like we were a perfect couple.

But your hugs brought me comfort.

If this what you wanted… I’m glad you got it..

I remember when we first met and I remember laughing.

I remember our first words and I remembering smiling.

However, all of that is clouded.

I remember making all our plans and now all I can do is cry.

I have to take a deep breath and hold it in.

I’ve just got to hide until my feelings disappear.

All I wanted was your happiness.

If it’s not me then what can I do?

All I can think of is our past.

All I can think of are the things that remind me of you

and all I can do is hold it in.

All I can do is take a deep breath.

All I can do is reminisce about the past before it becomes too much.

But all I can do hold it in.

I can’t show you what I’m feeling

because it’s not fair to show you.

So when I see you…

When I see you and I don’t speak.

When i see you and I turn around.

Please don’t think I hate you.

Because truly it’s the opposite.

I always felt unwanted.

I always felt unneeded.

It’s not like we were a perfect couple.

But your face made me smile

and your words made me skip a beat.

Your hugs brought me comfort.

I promise you, I’m glad your happy.

I’m sorry that I wasn’t what you wanted.

I’m sorry I’m not what made you smile.

Leave a Reply

