Simply a Cautionary Tale of a Broken Heart

 

You know that with all the history that has been conspired between us

I expected our story amidst the history books.

I expected our love to come from the depths of the books and become the main story line.

But as we stand here, I know…

I know that the story was one of the past.

The history book that had our story will be of one that was a broken tragedy.

So as we stand here, let me tell you good bye.

As we stand here, know that as I tell our story

It will come from my heart

It won’t be the epic love that I thought it to be

But the tragedy that it was meant to be.

Let me tell you good bye now.

Good bye!

Our story was there for the books but it’s simply the cautionary tale of love.

Just let me tell you that this was the story that I thought was meant for the books

But now, we are just simply the cautionary tale.

Our kind words, our sweet music created will be buried in the story of our demise.

I stood here once before

I thought of the words that would be spoken during this time

and I have come to the conclusion that our story was there.

That the history book with our life in it comes from the depths of our own hearts.

We came from the land of beautiful love so as we stand here

I forget that our demise was once a love.

It’s our demise that makes me know

That the last words that we need to speak will be the words of a good bye.

We are no longer the epic story that belonged ingrained in our kids minds.

We are simply that cautionary tale of a broken heart.

We will no longer be the story of the prince and princess.

We will just be the story of the cautionary tale

So as we stand here, let me tell you good bye.

As we stand here, know that as I tell our story

It will come from my heart

It won’t be the epic love that I thought it to be

But the tragedy that it was meant to be.

It’s our demise that makes me know

That the last words that we need to speak will be the words of a good bye.

We are no longer the epic story that belonged ingrained in our kids minds.

We are simply that cautionary tale of a broken heart.

So let me tell you good bye.

Leave a Reply

