So eleven chapters into Vampirian Tragedy and the topic of fate came up which got me thinking. Is fate a deciding factor? Is it real?

Is there such a thing as fate that it decides everything that is happening and everything that is going to happen to me in the future?

Does this fate take away all of my choices because no matter, there is the same endgame?

I don’t want to believe that, I don’t want to believe that there is no point in making choices because a thing such as fate or destiny has already decided everything for me. That before I was ever created, these things were going to happen to me.

Before I was born it was decided that :

  • I would overcome dyslexia.
  • I would go to Early College.
  • I would fall in love with X.
  • I would suck at Math.
  • X and I would break up.
  • I would fall in love with writing.
  • I would write a book (multiple in fact!)
  • I would become friends with B.

Thinking about your life and all of the things that you overcame yourself, you learned how to fix, you felt the way you felt. You feel proud of your accomplishments.

You overcame dyslexia? Congratulations! You did it all by yourself.

I think believing in destiny (or fate) takes away your ability in being proud of yourself and even takes away that feeling of accomplishment. How can you be proud of yourself or feel like you had an accomplishment if feel as though “if it was meant to happen, it would happen.”

I don’t believe in that saying. If you want it to happen, make it happen.

There is no third party causing it happen, there is no third party that has already decided your entire life. It has all happened and it was all meant to happen. That is bullshit.

You decide what your life is.

You decide that you are going to pick up that pen and start writing.

It is your accomplishment to overcome dyslexia.

It is your choice that you fell in love with X.

Everything that happens to you was not predetermined.

Do NOT let something take away your right to feel proud of yourself.

So yeah, I am going to live the life that I want to live and nothing such as fate or destiny is going to stop me. That is something that I can promise you.

Live the life you want,

Sabrina Ingram.

Leave a Reply

