I brushed my hair out of my face as I walked through to my next building, that was how our school was set up anyways. Each building was for something different; the library, the gym, the humanities, fine arts, sciences, nursing, criminology. You name it, we probably have a building for it.

All around me, the ground was covered in mostly shade, the bright sun was out and I could feel it burning my back but the trees lessened the damage so I continued to stick by the trees.

It wasn’t until I got to the clearing, the space between the building and the trees that the sun hit my skin and I could literally see my hair illuminate in the light, making my hair much lighter than it really was.

The thought crossed my mind as childish as it was, did my soulmate just see me for the first time, did the light shining off my hair catch his attention and is he now looking at me, curiosity and wonder filling his entire soul?

I had watched many movies, and even more books, the countless novels that spoke of this moment was clear in my head and even though I highly doubted it, I still wondered every single time I was exposed to the light.

The thought was absurd, even if I had caught one’s attention, the likelihood of it being my true love was slim as he would probably be doing some gross sport, decked out in some ridiculous uniform for what sport it was.

But even so, I found myself looking around when I saw him.

I was right about him being sweaty, he was wearing a sweatshirt even though it was like 80 degrees outdoors and his face was red though I doubted he was blushing. His eyes, though I have no idea their color, were on me as he rested on his shovel.

I had no idea who he was but the entire situation delighted me, I had attracted somebody and I wondered about the boy, what he was like. What the hell he was doing with that shovel but as there were various other students with a shovel, I suspected that it had to be some sort of class.

I quickly averted my gaze, refusing to look over even though I could still feel his eyes on mine, I opened the door to the Fine Arts building where I had my creative writing class and quickly went inside.

But the end of the class, all thoughts of the boy had left my mind as I headed for the library, knowing that I still had an hour before I had my next class. Our library was always interesting place, silence seemed to be a myth until you further in the back of the building. Gossip immediately reached my ears and even the library was providing the details when I heard something about digging, the image of the boy leaning against a shovel crossed my mind once more.

“What?” I suddenly interrupted, curious as to what the conversation was.

“Archaeology, today’s class finally got to go around and dig! Nobody found anything interested but it sure was attractive to watch those boys dig,” explained one girl.

“Even with how nerdy they are,” added another girl.

I wondered if he was majoring in archaeology which seemed to be an interesting topic to learn about which brought on my question, “Do you have to actually study archaeology in order to be in the class?”

“Oh no, no! I am studying Music Appreciation and I just signed up,” mentioned the girl who had explained to me what was going on earlier.

“You just signed up?”

“Yeah! You kidding me? Hot boys digging and being all sweaty! I am totally in to get a piece of that action,” her words shocked me and quite possibly grossed me out.

“Erm, well when are they meeting?” I didn’t necessarily want to join, I mostly just wanted to find when I could find him. The idea of “accidentally” running into crossed my mind but I figured one cliche was enough.

My answer was never found as something caught my attention, coming through the doors at that exact moment was him, the boy that I had seen earlier. He looked around, pushing up his glasses as he scanned the room, he had taken off the sweatshirt now, when his eyes found mine.

I thought about looking away as I stared into his golden brown eyes but even though I wanted to, something in me wouldn’t allow me to. Maybe it was because of the novels, stuffing in my head that he was the one simply because he had seen me in the sunlight.

“Hello,” hissed one of the girls as I snapped my head back to them.

“Oh, hey, sorry!” I blushed, finally looking away as I turned back to the girls.

“Nothing, she was just answering your question but she had to go, sorry!” she apologized though I don’t believe that she actually meant it. I nodded my head, unsure of whether or not it was okay to walk away now before she spun around, gossiping rapidly once again with one of her friends.

I nodded, thankful to finally have a getaway as I headed towards the poetry section, looking at different books as I always trying to make a better poet out of my self. “Do you know where the archaeology section is?”

I looked up confused when my heart practically stopped as my eyes met his, a soft smile on his face as I blushed brightly. “Unfortunately no, though it is probably near the history section. I am sorry, I don’t work here.”

“You’re completely fine, I just wanted to make conversation,” he replied smoothly, my blush creeping back as I stared at him. “You-You- what?” I stuttered, I was never very good with flirting.

“I saw you earlier today, your hair was so light in the sunshine, it was like you were an angel coming from heaven just as I was regretting my decision to take archaeology,” he cracked a smile and I knew that he was joking.

“You aren’t majoring in the subject?” I was breathing deeply, trying to keep as calm as possible as curiosity peeked.

“No, no, I am majoring in Literature. I just needed an elective and this class looked interesting enough to take,” he replied and I found myself laughing, knowing the feeling so well.

“Literature, huh? Maybe one day you will study about me,” as the concept of becoming a famous author crossed my mind, my dreams coming true with just a thought. I could see the confusion expression on his face as he watched, my soft smile that writing always brought to my face.

“Sorry, I am a Creative Writing student,” she explained as she snapped out of her daze. “It is my passion,” His smile and understanding his eyes were amazing and from that day on, their relationship was sweet smoothing.

Their chance encounters were rare and unlikely, only appropriate for movies and novels that only women were adorned by but their relationship was strong. Their relationship is what lead them to this day…

Her long white dress framed her body perfectly, all possible insecurities were hidden behind the beautiful lace of the gown as her hair and makeup was done by professionals. Their four year relationship lead them to their wedding day.

“It was during the afternoon that I first saw you, the sun was shining as bright as always and this beautiful girl that stood before me was the type to hide in the shadows, not wanting to catch any sort of attention… But then you did, you stepped out of the shadows and allowed the sun to lighten you up, your hair was not much lighter than ever before and I just happened to have looked up,” he began telling the entire world of their romance as he said his vows and it felt as though she was reliving the beginning of their relationship.

“I was sweaty, already regretting my choices to wear my sweater that day completely and I had to take a rest and I leaned on the shovel and looked up. I would have sworn that I had died and gone to heaven at the moment because it was then that I saw you. Your beauty so strong and radiant and you had looked at me for just a moment before continuing on… I couldn’t keep my eyes off of you and I knew I wanted to know… I wanted to know my angel, the Archaeologist’ angel when I was just about to die. You were my sunlight and just the beautiful sight of you strengthened me.”

My brown eyes met his, still entranced by the beautiful color of his light brown eyes as I had been that first day. I loved him far more than I ever could have known now.

“I had always been the one to wish of an amazing fairy tale where he would see me and I would be the most beautiful thing he had ever seen. I had never expected this to happen… That our story would be one for those unrealistic romances… But yet here I am, standing before a man worthy of being on the cover of one of those smutty romance novels and here I am, the heroine finally getting her childhood dreams. I was like an Archaeologist’ sunlight but you were like a Writer’s muse, worthy of being my main subject for the rest of my life and I am standing here before you in hopes of that being the case.”

With my final vows, I moved in to kiss him and I knew that the sunlight was now on both of us, telling the story of the Archaeologist’s sunlight and the writer’s muse.


Hello guys,

I actually first came up with this story on October 19th of this year but I thought I should broadcast that International Archaeology Day had come by and I wanted to SHARE my support for those who have found relics and stories of our past.

I applaud you and I hope you found your sunlight along the way.

I hope you guys enjoyed this!

Leave a Reply

