So I was talking with one of my friends, he was telling me this story behind a birthday present that was giving me (a little late but whatever) and I realized that it was the stories, the little moments in life that you tell your children, the ones that make up your life.

You’re not going to tell your children about multi-tasking between writing and watching Netflix (which is what I primarily do), those stories are boring. You’re going to tell the story of getting out of your car in broad day light, stealing an entire street sign and coloring it simply because he thought their friend would enjoy the gift.

Those are those stories that you lovingly tell to your friends and family, those are the stories that mean something in the end. The stories that prove that you have actually lived and I don’t want to live a life that forces me to be in my bedroom all the time.

That is why I want to travel, I want to travel before I ever have kids and I want to be able to tell them about that random musician who sang a song about the Presidential Election of 2016, the embarrassing ‘Rocky Horror Picture Show’ experience with my Aunt and Uncle.

The story of meeting one of my best friends because she wanted to hug me, the stories of going up a tree house that apparently no one had gone in years and falling down the 20 foot tree (resulting in a mobile mittendorf dot in my right eye.)

I am going to tell them of my eighth grade field trip to the Outer Banks that resulted in a seven hour ferry ride and how that was my favorite memory throughout all of middle school. The only time where everyone was friends and everyone was having fun and talking together.

So I have decided, I want a life that is worth being in stories. I want a life that when someone talks happily about me, they can recall the many mini stories that make up my life. The time I got banned from wearing flip flops in school or the fact that in the seventh grade, my teacher had me sing a song to her anytime she got upset or stressed.

It is not the stories of sitting down on your bed or the stories of watching Netflix that stick in your head but the ones that cause you to laugh, the ones that actually genuinely mean something to people and the ones that while it might not seem like it, will stick in your head forever.

There are some things that I look back fondly on in my life and some stories that I will tell a million times more as time goes on and I am glad to say that while I do have my many stories of binge watching stories on Netflix, I have my amazing stories that have the chance to be recounted over and over.

I can say that I wasn’t always at my lap top, I can say that I have my horror stories, my embarrassing stories, my stories of love and friendship, and even my stories of laughter.

All of these things, the moments where I was horrified or laughing are the stories that make up my life and I couldn’t be more happier about my life. The bad, the good, the better.

There is a quote by Kurt Vonnegut, a famous American author who once said, “Enjoy the little things in life for one day, you’ll look back and realize they were the big things.” This is something I genuinely believe in and I wanted to share my thoughts on this with all of you.

I hope you guys have an amazing day and please, create stories worthy of telling others.

Leave a Reply

