Hello my lovely children,

Right now, I am nearing the end of my teenage years and I have absolutely no intention of having a child any time soon but I also know that the wise, wise words of adults will never be listened to if I told them then rather than now.

In fact, I am not even sure you’re going to listen to me anyways. Right now, the year is 2017 and I can only imagine your reaction to hearing your 17 year old mother tell you a single word that I want to say.

I have no idea what our relationship is, I imagine it to be rather similar to my relationship with your grandmother but I honestly have no idea. I would hope we were close, one of which where you can trust me with anything you have to say.

I know what it is like to be a teenager, the drugs, the alcohol, the sex, and so much more that comes along with being a teenager and I can only hope that you trust me enough to tell me about the things going in your life.

I don’t want to be the mother that tells you never to drink alcohol, the one to tell you never to do drugs, nor will I be the one to lecture you on the dangers of sex because there are dangers but I trust that you already know them.

However, I do want to make sure you’re safe so if I ever wig out because you were at a party drinking, it is only because I know the dangers of what could happen. Drinking while driving, taking drinks from strangers, and so much more. If you are to do any of these things, I need to know you trust me and will call regardless of the time of day or the reason behind it. If your designated driver even takes one drink, I urge you to call me or if you happen to do drugs, I urge you to be careful and only do them around those you truly trust.

Trust is such a hard thing to come by as you’re surrounded by people who are not genuine and probably have no idea, this is the time of exploring and learning of yourself and the world around you so I know your trust may be misguided, or directed towards the wrong person but there is always a reason behind these things.

Between the mistakes of that jerk best friend or the scorned relationship with that guy, I know that it probably seems hard to trust anyone but I think that is the beauty of having a good relationship with your mother. My example would be my mother and I. We are close and I know that I can tell her anything regardless of what happens which is so important because in the mass of mistrust, it is amazing to have someone you do trust.

Of course, don’t let it seem like you can’t trust anyone at all. Friends are amazing and can be some of the most amazing people in the world for you to lean on, regardless of the relationship with me.

Merlin, I think of all the things I could tell you. I wonder which ones you would listen to, like how I already know I love you, even though I probably (most definitely) have not met your father nor am I remotely pregnant with you but I know I love you.

I also know that at some point, your love will extend to some random cutie. Whether it is a girl or a boy, regardless of whatever gender you are. I want you to know that love is love and I refuse to take away from your romance so please, love who you love and know that I will only be upset if you hide your love from me. I love you no matter what, I just want to know about you.

As for your relationship with your father, I wish I could give you advice on that but I never had a father. I had a step father but he was not my father and I really, really hope you’re closer to him than I was to him. I hope you don’t have to hide in your room to get away from him, that you don’t have to listen to degrading or disrespect on your part, regardless of how you treat him.

Your first boyfriend – Ensure that you know him, you don’t want a 4 minute relationship that will just give you a bad reputation. Make sure you give that title to someone special, you will always remember them.

Your first kiss – You imagine something super romantic, the type of kiss that has a leg pop or where you feel fireworks and while yes, you will always remember it regardless of whether you want to forget it. It will not be perfect, it might hurt your lips from the force (if it’s sudden) , it might be way too wet, or too much tongue. So many possibilities but sweetie, it does get better.

 

Leave a Reply

