You know, my goal in writing was never to please the entire world. I did not want millions of fans that read every single thing I published. I did not want my fans to read every book I love just for the sake of reading something I had written. Fans that copied my quotes on their hands was never anything I ever wanted.

 

I have a tattoo that says, “Write with the Breathings of Your Own Heart,” on my right thigh and I want to talk to you about what I want from a reader. When I had begun to write, I did it for myself and to share with my mother to entertain her. It wasn’t even something you could read without me being there because of dyslexia. My attempts at writing was nothing more than scribbles and horrible drawings.

 

But I still told stories, I told my mother of two long lost sisters coming together and I told my mother the story of the train tracks and I did it for no other reason but for her enjoyment. But here’s the thing about all of that, I was a kid who just wanted her mom to be happy and I never took it as something serious.

 

The fact of my dyslexia was that it slowed down my learning as I did have to overcome my inability to read and struggling to write but the second I learned, I flourished and I went from not being able to read at the end of second grade to being a 12th grade reading level at the end of third grade, one of my proudest accomplishments.

 

But as I grew older, my desires and interests in writing became so much more than just wanting to please my mother as I began to read books on my own. Books that would have an impact on my heart and the way I viewed the world. A desire and thirst to read more and more and I became a Literature Nerd on epic proportions. Case in point: My Personal Library.

 

Because of my love for reading and my interest in books and reading as much as I could, I began to learn about the world around me. I was horrified read To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, I was fascinated by Anthem by Ayn Rand, I related to 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher, I understood Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli, I loved A Thing about Jellyfish by Ali Benjamin, and was entranced by Sex and Sunsets by Tim Sandlin.

 

Reading had become a life preserver, I went into stories and I learned things and I had my own adventure. I want a reader to feel the same way about my own book, I want them to consider the topics and relate to them. I want them to see the depression, the messages, and the violence. I want them to understand and I want them to cherish an individual book because it touched their soul. I don’t care if you like one book and hate the other, I care if it touched your soul.

 

That’s my goal as a writer, to touch a reader’s soul like so many others had touched mine and on this topic, what book has touched your soul? #BookThatTouchedMySoul

One thought on “What I Want From My Readers

Leave a Reply

