Book Title: One of Us is Lying

Author: Karen M. McManus

Publication Date: May 30th, 2017.

Rating (Out of Five Stars) : 4

Book Review

Now, when I was in Barnes and Noble and looking for books to buy because I had a hole burning in my pocket, my choices were surprising even to myself but when I chose this particular book, it reminded me heavily of Pretty Little Liars and the Breakfast Club, two things that I thoroughly enjoyed watching.

With this story, I must admit, you’re confused for a good amount of time and generally curious about everything going on which is probably why I finished reading it in less than a day (including three Starbucks drinks while I was still in Barnes and Noble…)

The basic premise of this story is that five kids go into detention, all of which having been framed for bringing a phone to class – though I do question if Mr. Avery was actually allowed to root through people’s book bags, that just seems insane to me and I am high school student. During this detention however, only four come out safely as Simon, the resident outcast has an allergic reaction from peanuts after drinking a cup of water.

Immediately, we know a very telling detail that Simon was basically Gossip Girl and told everybody’s business for everyone to hear and that all four of the other students were soon to be subjects in the upcoming update in the story. All of which having their respective secrets that seems to give a motive for why they would want to kill him.

But I am going to stop talking about the details of the book before I give away the whole thing and if I somehow gave it away during this review, I don’t think I would ever be able to forgive myself because story is a MUST READ.

This story handles so many important topics so eloquently and so brilliantly that I have never been happier to find such an amazing book which is surprisingly odd since the writing style itself was a bit complicated.

The story had a constant change in point of view which was important for the story as it wants you to think somebody specifically did it (and I was between the real person who did and somebody else the entire time!) But not only does it handle such amazing topics that are obvious from chapter one but so many more that if you’re into mystery, romance, or suspense, you need to go out and buy the book right now.

So, I am giving this book four stars, though if I separated between writing style and content, the content section would get five stars but switching between four people as much as it did, practically gave me a whiplash and I think there could have been a more eloquent way to handle the four points of views but all things considering, it was an amazing story and if any of you guys have read it, I would love to hear your opinion!

 

Don’t forget to give me a book review request (though it will need to be updated soon!) in the comments of My Book Catalog!¬†And if you guys have any suggestions for a book you want me to read, please tell me!

 

 

Leave a Reply

